Mystery Quilt-Along

The 12 Days of Christmas Tiny Mystery, Day 1

I hope you’re going to join me

these 12 Days of Christmas

to sew a cute little 12″ quilt… or pillow… or both!

Are you ready to start?

Have you pressed your fabrics with Mary Ellen’s Best Press?

It really helps control the tiny pieces.

We’ll make this tiny house block today.

Cut:

  • 1 black rectangle 2″ x 3 1/2″
  • 1 green rectangle 2″ x 2 1/2″
  • 2 cream squares 2″
  • 2 cream rectangles 1″ x 2″

Make a flying geese block with the black rectangle & 2 cream 2″ squares.

I’m using my lazy Susan technique… I don’t like to draw lines on fabric!

Just put a cream square on the black rectangle.

Align the 1/4″ line of ruler with the center diagonal of the square

then cut off the corner.

Use that cut edge to sew the scant 1/4″ seam.

 

Press seam toward cut off edge then repeat with other corner.

Sew the green 2″ x 2 1/2″ rectangle

between the 2 cream 1″ x 2″ rectangles.

Press each seam, then sew the roof to the house.

I pressed the last seam open.

Literally a 5 minute block,

unless you’re documenting it like I am, lol!

Let’s post pics over at my Sewing With Susan Facebook group!

https://www.facebook.com/groups/SewingWithSusan/

See you tomorrow.

Just Keep Sewing…

Susan

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The 12 Days of Christmas Tiny Mystery, Day 1”

  1. Cute! I’m finishing up binding/hanging sleeve/label for 2 quilts that need finishing by New Year’s Day, but will try to join along with you for the 12 Days of Christmas (or maybe a few days longer).

Leave a comment